Beijing - Dongcheng

Dongcheng, which literally translates as “east city district”, covers the eastern half of Beijing’s Old city centre. The district borders Chaoyang district to the north and east, Fengtai district to the south, and Xicheng district to the west.  The spirit of old Beijing is very much alive in the Dongcheng district and the timeless portrait of Mao that sits upon the wall of Tiananmen gate is testimony to this fact. Dongcheng holds more than a quarter of Beijing’s major historical and cultural attractions within its borders. Sites such as the Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven – both of which are UNESCO World Heritage Sites – offer a peak at the imperial majesty that once governed this land. The famous Tiananmen Square is also situated within the district, along with other popular tourist destinations such as the hutongs of Wangfujing and Nanluogoxiang.

Due to its historical/cultural make-up, that attracts millions of tourists a year, the majority of Dongcheng’s economy arises from the service sector (often over three-quarters). Along with the historic sites Dongcheng also homes some of Beijing’s premier hotels and shopping areas, such as Oriental Plaza – once Asia’s largest shopping centre, and Wangfujing pedestrian mall – these are major pulls for domestic tourists. While the majority of Beijing’s corporate and political buildings are found in the Chaoyang district and Xicheng district respectively, Dongcheng does contain some major business headquarters and political offices. Given this amalgamation of commercial and cultural characteristics the district is considered to be one of Beijing’s four key zones.

Dongcheng district contains both the nation’s most important railway and transfer hub – Beijing station, and the city’s most vital transfer station – Dongzhimen Transport hub. It is also adjacent, to the south, to the New Beijing South Railway Station which is the Asia's largest railway station. Dongcheng is served by metro lines 1, 2, 5 and 13, operated by Beijing Subway and is also a stop along the Airport line.

北京 - 东城区

东城区,顾名思义,指的就是“城市东部地区”,它位于北京老城区的东半部。西城区北部和东部与朝阳相邻,南部与丰台相接,西部与西城相临。老北京的精神在东城区被较完整地保留下来,毛主席的画像被年复一年地挂在天安门城墙上,老北京精神从这一点中可见一斑。北京超过四分之一的重要历史名胜和文化古迹都位于东城区。例如,被联合国教科文组织列入世界遗产名单的故宫和天坛,为我们一睹昔日帝王风采提供了机会。著名的天安门广场就位于东城区。此外,东城区还有其他一些热门的旅游目的地,如王府井大街和南锣鼓巷胡同等。

凭借得天独厚的历史和文化遗产,东城区每年吸引来成百上千万的游客,服务行业成为东城区最主要的经济来源(约占四分之三以上)。除了历史名胜,东城区还有许多顶级的酒店和购物中心,如东方广场——昔日曾是亚洲最大的购物中心,以及王府井步行街——这些都是吸引国内游客的主要场所。朝阳区是北京的企业汇聚地,西城区是北京的行政机构所在地,而

东城区则既有重要企业总部,又有行政机关办事处。由于东城区融合了商业和文化特色,它被人们称为北京四大中心城区之一。

东城区内拥有全国最重要的铁路和转运枢纽“北京站”,以及北京市最重要的转运站“东直门枢纽站”。而且,东城区南部邻近“新北京南站”,它被誉为“亚洲最大的火车站”。东城区内拥有多条地铁线路,包括由北京地铁公司运营的1、2、5和13号线,以及途经该区的机场专线。